David Mark’s book about JavaScript

Posted: July 28, 2010 in David Mark
Tags: , , ,

David Mark is working on a book about JavaScript. He said:

I have been working on a book on-again and off-again for years. The trouble is that there is not a lot of motivation as I can make a lot more money writing code than writing about code.

I suppose if some savvy publisher advanced me, oh, 50K or so, I’d get right on it. As it is, the one I talked to was in a completely different neighborhood (one that I prefer to avoid, at least after dark).

William Wallace wrote:
It seems that there are no good books.

You are learning fast.  But the publishers see “good books” as books that will sell the most copies. The representatives I dealt with were of the opinion that “everyone” is really excited about “these libraries” (e.g. jQuery). They sent me an outline of one to look at (and review) and I asked them if it was going to be a children’s book and indicated that the only sort of jQuery book I would consider writing would be of the contrarian view. I think that and my high asking price turned them off, but I do still hear from them from time to time. Maybe some day they will realize that somebody has to take a chance and publish something fresh. I mean, in five or ten years, who is going to care about jQuery puff pieces?
[1]

What we can learn from David Mark’s profile at Linked In:

Until January 2010, David Mark was employed at SitePen, Inc. for a short time (just 5 months). After that he was self-employed with cinsoft.net. Since June 2010 he is registered as Consultant at Synergy Consulting Group, Inc., a recruting agency.

So if David Mark would get a chance to write a book, this would be the perfect time. And indeed, David Mark wrote:

I happened to hear from a representative at my prospective publisher today. I’m trying to work out a deal that will benefit everyone. Can’t do it for the Karma alone though.
[1]

But writing a book is a lot of work. Not everyone is able to finish a book project. I’m slightly concerned about David Mark’s statement:

I’ve got enough raw material for a whole series of books,
but not enough time to organize it.
[1]

Dear fans

How could we help David Mark?
Do you know some of his own quotations, he could use for his book?
Send in your citation and a link to the source.

[1]: comment at comp.lang.javascript

Comments
  1. Igor says:

    i am sure there will be dull moments. the hottest game in the sky is playing “Lead the Idiot Around the Parking Lot” http://iggysplayhouse.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/okay-can-i-have-a-job-now-please/

Leave a Reply

